I have written this post a hundred times in my head, but it hasn’t made it to the computer until now. And even now, as I write this I am not 100% sure it will get posted.

I know I am not the only one who feels this, especially living here in Michigan, but it has been a long, SAD winter. Thankfully, I think we are getting closer to spring, not only for me but also my children; they are itching to get outside.  In the last few years, I have noticed that the winters are tough for me. I have no ambition, and just feel as though I am in a funk all the time. Adding Seasonal Affective Disorder on top of mild depression just makes for a lousy winter.

Unfortunately, this funk has only added to the excuses reasons, why I haven’t been to the gym or taking care of myself. I think it has been over a month since I have been to the gym. With hubby travelling, my pain-in-the-butt Government class, and general family stuff, me time has gotten lost. I really need to find it again. There will always be things that are happening in life and there will always be excuses. I need to get past the excuses.

I know there is something that can help me get out of the funk and that is exercise. Before I got pregnant, I was at the gym 5 days a week and I felt amazing and winter didn’t bother me. But, right now, I am just in too much of a funk to actually go to the gym to work out. I know, it is a vicious cycle…need to go to the gym to feel less depressed, but feel too depressed to go to the gym. I have tried to do exercise programs at home and that doesn’t work for me. And I am way too much of a wimp to go outside in this cold weather.

March has to be different. I need to start thinking about myself and taking better care of me. While, I haven’t been to the gym yet, I have to make it a priority, even if that means I get my butt out of bed at 5:00 to be at the gym at 5:30 when they open.

So, obviously, since I haven’t been to the gym in a while, I haven’t had the chance to do my 5k program. I will not be running the Irish Jig this weekend. (Plus, I think it will still be too cold) So, now I am looking forward to the Riverbank Run in May. That is 2 ½ months away.

Time to kick winter’s butt and show it who’s boss. 

Image

