I am sure everyone is beginning to think of their New Year’s resolutions, myself included, which will be coming next week. But, I have never really taken the time to reflect on the year that we are completing, the good the bad and the ugly. What a year it has been and thankfully, I can say that it was a good year, with a few rough parts thrown in.

  • The single best thing that happened this year – That is hard, but if I had to pick just one, it would be our birthday trip to New York. Hubby and I needed to get away, just the two of us. This long weekend let us reconnect and spend quality time together that had seemed to evade us for the past year.
  • The single most challenging thing that happened this year – Going back to work 8 weeks after our daughter was born and  working through my post-partum depression. The first year after I give birth is always very difficult. Once my babies turn 1, I can start to see past the depression and see the end in sight. My baby just turned 1 and I am finally starting to really enjoy her.
  • An unexpected joy this past year – I was offered a position at a new company. This new position is bringing me another step closer to getting my nursing degree.
  • An unexpected obstacle – thankfully, we really didn’t have any. Now, that doesn’t mean I want any next year.
  • Pick three words to describe this year –growing, stressful, fun
  • Three words my spouse would use to describe my year – growing, busy, SuperMom
  • The best books I read this year – the very sad reality, I only read one non-school book, but it was an amazing book that did me wonders. It is called Free Fall to Fly by Rebekah Lyons. It is my hope to read more books next year, but with school, I find it difficult to find time to read.
  • My most valuable relationships – God, my mom and Amanda. My mom and Amanda helped me through the deepest part of my post-partum and I am glad to say that I am finally starting to feel myself again.
  • Biggest personal challenge of the year – staying focused on me and all the positive things that go along with that. I am good at dwelling on the negative things about me, or even creating them. I need to kick the negative thoughts out and only leave room for the positive thoughts that will build me up and not tear me down.
  • In what ways did I grow emotionally – I have come out of the post-partum depression. I am so grateful for the friends and family that supported me through this time.
  • In what ways did I grow spiritually – Most days, I felt as though I was just holding on, hoping to make it to the next day. It is so easy for me to get caught up in the everyday that I forget to focus on God. Thankfully, our 6 year old is changing that. I envy his thirst to memorize the bible. He is always asking to read different bible stories. Faith like a child.
  • In what ways did I grow physically – I have lost about 15 pounds so far on my journey and I started going back to the gym, why isn’t only helping physically, but also emotionally (more on that later!) I have also started running again, after taking a year off. Granted, it is only a minute at a time, but I am still running and preparing for a 5K
  • In what ways did I grow my relationships with others – I feel as though my relationships with others have dwindled and that makes me very sad. I love being with my friends. I struggle with the fact that I am busy with family, work and school. I want to have time for my friends as well, but unfortunately, I am not making that a priority.
  • What was the most enjoyable part of my work – my co-workers. There are just 4 of us, but we have a good time.
  • What was the most challenging part of my work – Finding my place in the new position. It has been quite the learning curve with learning different personalities.
  • What was my single biggest time waster of the year – the stupid internet, namely social media and Pinterest. I let that distract me from my school work and quality time with my husband. Not only is a time waster, but I let it become a thief. My desire is to spend less time mindlessly on the internet.
  • What was the best way I used my time – I let my 6 year old do household tasks with me. That way, I still did what I had to do, but I could spend time with him.
  • What was the biggest thing I learned – If I put my mind to it, I can get it done. There are many days I want to give up because I am so busy with family, work and school, but I know that it is a means to an end and also that I am setting an example for my children.
  • Create a phrase or statement that describes this past year:

All in all, 2013 was a good year. I am excited to see what is in store for us next year. How about you, how was your year?

Merry-Christmas-2012-300x240

 

 

