Last Saturday, I took my great friend out for her birthday. We went to Naked Plates to express some of our artistic abilities. If you know me, I am far from artistic. We each painted a coffee mug, a bowl and a plate. I was thinking it would take us a couple of hours. I was wrong; we got there at 10:00am and left at 3:30. Apparently, you need to paint each color three times. It is easy to forget that fact when you are trying to create a masterpiece.  Needless to say, they are going to look amazing when I pick them up on Saturday!  It was so good to catch up and just hang out with our kids vying for our attention.  Later that night, I was telling Buster about the cookie plate I made so he could put cookies out for Santa. He immediately informed me that Santa needed a healthy snack and we should put out carrots and hummus! That kid cracks me up. I guess I need to make sure that I have carrots and hummus out for Santa and his reindeer.

ImageImage

I had such great plans of everything I wanted to get done now that my class is over.  Unfortunately, my list is getting longer instead of shorter. If only there was a way to stop time, but I could keep going everything would fall into place. I still have 3 weeks before my next class starts. I am going to make a dent in that list! Speaking of class being over, I am happy to say that I actually did really well in the class. It was my first time taking an online class and I was a little nervous about it, but I ended up with an A-. I also signed up for my next class, American Government, which will also be online. I have to stay focused in this class because I am not looking forward to taking it. Too bad it isn’t an election year, to make it a little more exciting.

I find it funny, Christmas is supposed to be a time of family and friends and joy, but we have turned it into a time of stress, expectations, and drudgery.  In 2011, Yahoo came up with a list of the American’s Top Holiday Dreads and do you know what was #2, gaining weight.  At work, we are doing a hold it for the holidays. My goal is to actually lose 5 pounds before January 15. I am well on my way to making that goal. With all the upcoming parties, I need to make sure that I am finding time to get to the gym and making smart food choices.

What is your number one holiday indulgence?!

