I can’t believe that Christmas is only about 15 days away. Between family, school and work I feel as though the days are getting away from me. Last year at this time, we were in the midst of the new baby fog. I am so happy we are past that.

Now that school is done, I can spend more time getting ready for Christmas. I  have a couple of cookie exchanges to prepare for and one of them I am going to be making my all-time favorite traditional Christmas goodie, Peanut Butter Balls, or as my sister-in-law calls them, Buckeyes! This past weekend, we went over to my parents and made a bunch of peanut butter balls. I am thinking I might have to make some more before the season is over.

Image

Peanut Butter center:

3 cups Rice Krispies, measure and then crush

1 pound Powdered Sugar (3 1/2 cups)

2 cups smooth Peanut Butter

1 stick of Butter melted (1/2 cup)

chocolate coating:

1 bag Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips (2 cups)

1/2 package White Candi Quik

 -Measure 3 cups of Rice Krispie cereal and crush with a rolling pin. Add crushed Rice Krispies, powdered sugar, and peanut butter to mixer. Begin to mix on medium speed, slowly drizzle melted butter in, continue to mix until filling is completely incorporated, about 2 minutes. Using a melon baller, scoop out filling and roll in to balls in the palm of your hand, set them on a baking sheet. Chill peanut butter balls in refrigerator for 30 minutes or up to 24 hours.

Chocolate Coating: Melt 2 cups of semi sweet chocolate chips with 1/2 package  white candi quik in a glass bowl in your microwave at 30 second intervals. Do not microwave longer than 90 seconds all together, chocolate will continue to melt even after done microwaving. Stir with spatula until smooth.

-Lay parchment or waxed paper on counter.

-Dip fork in chocolate coating, set peanut butter ball on fork, spoon chocolate coating over peanut butter ball.

-Tap fork on side of bowl to knock off excess chocolate.

-Scoot chocolate covered ball on to parchment paper and repeat

-Allow 1 hour for chocolate to set up well.

Image

