Better late than never. With a sick house last week, and preparing to go away this week, life has been crazy. We are looking forward to a busy weekend with Hubby’s family and also celebrating Miss E’s 1st birthday! 

                                                              Image

The Holidays and More: Part 2

 

1.  What state/country do you live in?  Beautiful Michigan. As much as I dream about living in some exotic place, I will most likely always live in Michigan.

2.  Where were you born?  Were you raised there?  I was born ½ hour from where I live now, closer to majestic Lake Michigan. I have lived in Boston, and a brief stint in the Dominican Republic. But, I have been fortunate enough to travel to many different countries and states.

3.  How do you feel about stores like Wal-mart opening on Thanksgiving Day for pre-Black Friday sales?  Will you participate?  I am opposed to the stores being open on Thanksgiving Day, so I will not be participating in it. It makes me sad that people are so wrapped up in things instead of each other.

4.  Have you ever participated in a Turkey Trot?  Will you do one this year?  Two years ago, I had a very crazy Thanksgiving, my friend and I did a Turkey Trot, I then went to work, where we served 2,000 people a Thanksgiving feast and then, my family and I jumped in the car and drove 4.5 hours to my husband’s parents in Cleveland. I am hoping that next year I will be able to participate again. I have to get back into running before I get out there for a race!

5.  What was your favorite toy as a child?  I loved playing with legos when I was younger, but otherwise you would find me with my nose in a book.

6.  Will you count points/calories on Thanksgiving Day?  I don’t think I will count every calorie, but I will be well aware of what I am eating. I am also preparing most of the meal so I know what will be going into every dish. I will continue to limit my portions and try to at least get out for a walk this weekend.

7.  Will you watch football Thursday?  No, we will watch the Macy’s parade, but other than that, there probably won’t be much tv watching with 2 active kids who will want to get out and do stuff!

8.  Do you decorate inside/outside of your home for the holidays?  I decorate the inside. We are in a condo, so it is a little harder to decorate the outside. I have found that since having kids, I am inclined to decorate more for the holidays than I did when we didn’t have kids.

9.  Do you have allergies that prevent you from eating traditional holiday meals? Nope…I wish had had more so I would stay away from certain things, but I will employ self-control.

10.  Is it snowing where you live?  Yes, we just got our first measurable snowfall yesterday. I am not a fan of the cold. I appreciate snow for December and January, but then I am ready for it to go away. Unfortunately, our son LOVES the snow, so we are out in it a lot during the winter. 

